Service Alert: ProQuest databases – Sunday 17 January

ProQuest will be upgrading its systems infrastructure to improve performance, security, and overall reliability. Work is scheduled to begin at 03:00 GMT on Sunday 17 January and will last for up to 8 hours.

During this time, access to ProQuest research databases including ABI/INFORM, EconLit, GeoRef, IBSS and LION will not be available, and users will be re-directed to a webpage explaining the scheduled maintenance. Please note that RefWorks, the reference management tool, will also be unavailable during the upgrade window.

Apologies in advance for any inconvenience that may be caused.

Susan McCourt, s.mccourt@abdn.ac.uk

Save time – use Scopus to improve your research (and marks?)

Some of the benefits of creating a Scopus account (My Scopus):

  • You’ve performed your searches, why not save them for future reference? You can save up to 50 searches.
  • You’ve found interesting material for your assignment or dissertation, but need to keep up-to-date? Set up an alert – get it by email.
  • You’ve done the hard part, you’ve got your material, now let’s move on to referencing! Using RefWorks? Select it as your preferred export system.

If you think you’ll use the Scopus database regularly, you will definitely benefit from the extra features that an account offers. Get organised and create an account…

How to create your personal account?

Whether you are on or off campus, just follow the instructions in Step 2 of the “Accessing electronic information” library guide: https://www.abdn.ac.uk/library/documents/guides/dbs/qgdbs005.pdf

Then Activate personalization (top right hand corner) and complete the form.  Next time you use Scopus, log in using the Step 2 instructions and Scopus will recognise you (your name will appear in the top right hand corner).

Need more help?

Have you missed our Find it Fast! library workshops? Don’t worry, catch up on our wiki pages at http://finditfastlibraryworkshops.pbworks.com/

Prefer to use the help material provided by Scopus? Have a look at their Quick Guide (all 14 pages of it) at https://www.elsevier.com/__data/assets/pdf_file/0005/79196/scopus-quick-reference-guide.pdf

Rather to speak to a person? Come to the Sir Duncan Rice Library and speak to our experts:

  • Susan McCourt (Room 506) and Ewan Grant (Room 306) can advise on simple and advanced search options and features.
  • Eleni Papadakou and Vivien Logan (Room 505) are always happy to help!

Keep up to date with Scopus

Scopus offers more options to improve your Scopus skills, learn more now by clicking on the image below!

How to improve Scopus

Eleni Papadakou and Vivien Logan

MAINTENANCE: Web of Science on Sunday 14th June

Please be advised that Thomson Reuters will be performing routine maintenance between 13.00 and 16.00 this Sunday 14th June 2015.

It is expected that there will be minimal interruption to users who are logged into Web of Science, InCites, ResearcherID, or EndNote Online during this time.

Thomson Reuters apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Elaine Shallcross
e.shallcross@abdn.ac.uk
Information Consultant Law and Business

Technical difficulties – Elsevier sites – 8 June

Apologies – due to technical issues it is not possible to access Elsevier resources including the Scopus and ScienceDirect databases.

Message from Elsevier – “We are currently experiencing a service outage due to unforeseen technical issues and are working to resolve them as soon as possible. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience.”

If you need to access a broad multi-disciplinary database during the outage period I would recommend using Web of Science.

Susan McCourt, s.mccourt@abdn.ac.uk

ScienceDirect books are mobile friendly!

sciencedirect_longDo you know that you can download one, selected, or all chapters from a book on ScienceDirect on to your computer or your mobile device? To find out how to do this follow the instructions on Elsevier’s Online Books Connect blog. 

The ScienceDirect site is mobile friendly too, so you can view full text online, or view/download chapters directly from the site via the browser on your mobile device. You can also download any HTML article or book chapter in Mobi (Kindle) or ePub format. This must be done on a computer and the files transferred to any eReader device that supports these file types. Instructions for ScienceDirect ePub and Mobi downloads are available online.

Access ScienceDirect via our electronic resources portal, Primo. Open the Find Databases link at the top of any Primo page and simply type ScienceDirect in the Name box. Use the link provided to navigate to the database.

Elaine Shallcross
Information Consultant, Law and Business
e.shallcross@abdn.ac.uk

MAINTENANCE: Emerald Insight website on Friday 20 February 2015

Maintenance on Emerald’s research platform, Emerald Insight, is scheduled to take place on Friday 20 February 2015, between 23:00 GMT and 03:00 GMT. Emerald Insight will be unavailable for up to 1 hour during this maintenance window. If you access the website during this time you will receive a ‘connection timeout’, or similar message, within your browser.

Elaine Shallcross
e.shallcross@abdn.ac.uk